angels

And out of all the angels, you were my favorite

There’s purity in the words that slip from your mouth. Even if they sit next to the lies 

Your face was immaculately made, though your wings clipped and eyes weary 

but you burned like sun and I willfully would’ve gone blind watching you everyday

laughter like chimes

touch was heaven sent

mind was otherworldly

I fell into the longest daze with you 

I never knew day dreaming like this

every morning hopeful, every night a warm comfortable haze

but apparently, angels can break hearts too. 

through every tear I still saw your halo

I still felt the comfort of your presence

you still glowed as if you fell from the skies that day

you were my favorite you were my favorite

and you are still my favorite…

2 thoughts on “angels

Leave a Reply

