sunsets

They were your sunset so much so that you expected them to return the next evening


I know you would’ve wanted them at your aid if they hadn’t left you in their scorching fire…but I digress…


You’ve been burned
You’ve been burned


But I couldn’t be the next left burning in your exploding sunset


You would’ve set me alight in a second if they came back for you


And I don’t understand how you could not find any truth here, no eye opening moment

Maybe I wasn’t bright enough to take your breath away

I could never be a sunset but I could try


You’ve been burned before


But I’d never burn you

Leave a Reply

